The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Asphalt Institute presented an Enhanced Durability through Increased In-Place Pavement Density Workshop to ten states as shown below. This one-day workshop offered owners and contractors the opportunity to learn about the dramatic durability increases that can be realized from relatively small increases in in-place densities. This workshop provided the most current information on how to achieve consistently high densities and the resulting economic benefits.

Enhanced Durability of Asphalt Pavements through Increased In-Place Pavement Density

Last updated November 7, 2016

TOPICS INCLUDE:

  • The Importance of Density
  • Influencers on Durability
  • Construction Best Practices
  • Newer Technologies
    • Intelligent Compaction
    • Pave IR
    • Warm Mix Asphalt
  • Tack Coat Best Practices
  • Longitudinal Joint Best Practices
State Workshop Date Regional AI Engineer
Arkansas 1/5/2017 Danny Gierhart dgierhart@asphaltinstitute.org
South Dakota 1/5/2017 Mark Blow mblow@asphaltinstitute.org
Missouri 1/24/2017 Mark Blow mblow@asphaltinstitute.org
Alabama 1/26/2017 Danny Gierhart dgierhart@asphaltinstitute.org
Wyoming 1/26/2017 Dave Johnson djohnson@asphaltinstitute.org
Tennessee 2/1/2017 Bob Horan bhoran@asphaltinstitute.org
Montana 2/14/2017 Dave Johnson djohnson@asphaltinstitute.org
Idaho 2/16/2017 Dave Johnson djohnson@asphaltinstitute.org
Arizona 2/23/2017 Bob Humer bhumer@asphaltinstitute.org
Eastern Federal Lands 2/27/2017 Bob Horan bhoran@asphaltinstitute.org
Nevada 3/14/2017 Bob Humer bhumer@asphaltinstitute.org
Connecticut 3/15/2017 Greg Harder gharder@asphaltinstitute.org
Oregon 3/16/2017 Bob Humer bhumer@asphaltinstitute.org
New Mexico 3/28/2017 Dave Johnson djohnson@asphaltinstitute.org
Louisiana 3/30/2017 Danny Gierhart dgierhart@asphaltinstitute.org

Research has conservatively indicated that a 1% increase in density at the time of construction can result in a 10% increase in service life. Using these values, life cycle cost analysis indicates that an 8.8% savings can be expected.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: